Sitni Sati Forums
Fire using tyflow - Printable Version

+- Sitni Sati Forums (https://forum.afterworks.com)
+-- Forum: Products (https://forum.afterworks.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: FumeFX [max] (https://forum.afterworks.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: Fire using tyflow (/showthread.php?tid=2150)



Fire using tyflow - Fabrice - 09-08-2023

Hi,

I created a tyflow1.025 flamethrower but I obtain only ugly fire balls instead of fire....what am I doing wrong please?

Here are my settings :

   


RE: Fire using tyflow - DoKorak - 09-08-2023

Hello,

To get more details you should lower the spacing of the grid but make sure that Sim Size value is within your RAM size.

Try setting your spacing from 3.0 to 1.0 for example.


RE: Fire using tyflow - Fabrice - 09-08-2023

Thanks DoKorak but it's the same.
I tried with spacing at 0.5 instead of 3.0 and the sphere are just more...spherical Sad
(...and it take forever to sim)
Even if I crank up the number of particle (in tyflow) it will just make more sphere...but it's not looking like fire at all.


RE: Fire using tyflow - Kresimir Tkalcec - 09-08-2023

Hello Fabrice,

What you actually need is more particles with smaller radius and you should gradually decrease fire amount as particle ages.
You can check our FumeFX 6 Flamethrower tutorial and use that idea to create flamethrower with FumeFX 5 and tF.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rl8ibppvBU


RE: Fire using tyflow - Fabrice - 09-08-2023

(09-08-2023, 03:40 PM)KresimirĀ Tkalcec Wrote: Hello Fabrice,

What you actually need is more particles with smaller radius and you should gradually decrease fire amount as particle ages.
You can check our FumeFX 6 Flamethrower tutorial and use that idea to create flamethrower with FumeFX 5 and tF.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rl8ibppvBU
Hi Kresimir and thanks for the answer
but it still doesnt work at all here.

I watched the flamethrower tutorial and copied all the parameters in my setup.
It changed allmost nothing on the render
(I re-simed every step in order to check the difference but none appeared).
I also increased the particle number from 100 to 10 000 and decreased the final radius from 3 000 to 200
and still I have fireballs instead of any fire.

Is there any preset somewhere ?
because here I'm completely lost...

PS : I know the flame in the tuto is bigger than (wich is 5m long) but I guess I should see something changing...
   


RE: Fire using tyflow - Kresimir Tkalcec - 09-08-2023

Your flow is actually very different from the tutorial - it is a lot wider and fire and smoke in tutorial are quite different from what you have.
Important information is from 14:16 https://youtu.be/9rl8ibppvBU?si=QulcqOFfBfMz8uQg&t=856
Make sure to have proper burning and buoyancy, but one thing would still miss from FumeFX 5 - added pressure.
Check from FumeFX viewport that you have correct velocities in grid from particles and increase them if needed..

Hope this helps.


RE: Fire using tyflow - Fabrice - 09-08-2023

(09-08-2023, 05:33 PM)KresimirĀ Tkalcec Wrote: Your flow is actually very different from the tutorial - it is a lot wider and fire and smoke in tutorial are quite different from what you have.
Important information is from 14:16 https://youtu.be/9rl8ibppvBU?si=QulcqOFfBfMz8uQg&t=856
Make sure to have proper burning and buoyancy, but one thing would still miss from FumeFX 5 - added pressure.
Check from FumeFX viewport that you have correct velocities in grid from particles and increase them if needed..

Hope this helps.
You're right it's different situations.
But I dont understand how to use what is said at 14:16
And I dont know what is "proper" burning and buoyancy, more ? Less ?
Also for the "correct" velocities, I see particle in the grid but are they "correct" i dont know.
Sorry, I must be too newbie for this tool...I was kind of hoping mixing tyflow (witch I use a lot) with it would be a bit simpler.


RE: Fire using tyflow - Kresimir Tkalcec - 09-08-2023

Particle emitter for flamethrower can be a simple rain particles that would be actually a lot easier to setup than tyflow by using the particle age to control fire and smoke areas, like in tutorial.
For FumeFX 6 a complete scene can be downladed.


RE: Fire using tyflow - Fabrice - 09-09-2023

What do you mean "a simple rain particles" ? A standard Max particle system like PF source or Superspray ?

"that would be actually a lot easier to setup than tyflow by using the particle age to control fire and smoke areas"
but tyflow's particles have an age.

"For FumeFX 6 a complete scene can be downladed" yes but as in a middle of a production I dont want to upgrade to 6 wich seems very different from 5 and having a quite steep learning curve.


RE: Fire using tyflow - Kresimir Tkalcec - 09-11-2023

(09-09-2023, 03:10 PM)Fabrice Wrote: What do you mean "a simple rain particles" ? A standard Max particle system like PF source or Superspray ?

"that would be actually a lot easier to setup than tyflow by using the particle age to control fire and smoke areas"
but tyflow's particles have an age.

"For FumeFX 6 a complete scene can be downladed" yes but as in a middle of a production I dont want to upgrade to 6 wich seems very different from 5 and having a quite steep learning curve.

Yes, 3ds max rain or superspray particle systems would be just fine.
One tip for tyflow - make sure to always export particle Age.
Not sure that there are any velocities from particles in your simulation.


Tyflow does have particle have age, but do not have a lifespan so the age goes form 0 to 9999 and in 3ds max it can be divided by a lifespan to get from 0-1. AFC controls require normalized age that goes from 0-1. Of course, you can create custom channels in tyflow and use those instead.


FumeFX 6 compared to 5 has the same workflow if we're talking about smoke and fire simulations.
NodeWorks is a huge extension, but not necessary to use FumeFX like you did version 5.