• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
error in max 9 x64 e:\max6sdk\includer9\point3.h#196
Did a new version from 3.2a get posted for this error? saw on Autodesk's forum that this has been around since may. Not only to Afterburn but also FumeFX.

getting this error in max 9 x64:
e:\max6sdk\includer9\point3.h#196
There a few threads complaining about this problem and we are yet to get any solutions.
I am a total newbie with Afterburn but I just came to the forums to inquire about this particular problem. I am using MAX9_32 and the scanline renderer.

I have created a box gizmo and applied the standard MAX Volume Fog and it works fine. But I thought I would try Afterburn Volume Fog to try and get more definition in the simple cloud layer I am trying to create. (It's basically a cloud layer that's over your head and goes towards the horizon line).

When I try to create the Afterburn Volume Fog using the same box gizmo, I can setup things just fine but when I render, It renders through the Afterburn Volume Fog clouds fine but after it's finished with this area and gets to the horizon (where it's just a flat mesh for the ground) it crashes giving the error in the title.

Any idea what part of my scene is causing Afterburn to crash? Renders fine with no Afterburn.

Thanks!
OK, I solved the problem in my case.

I was using a skydome object that forms the sky and the horizon. I had created the gizmo such that it extended beyond the skydome object (the gizmo and skydome intersected). When I resized the gizmo to fit inside of the skydome object and not intersect it, the crash stopped and the render finished just fine.

I guess this type of positioning is a no-no.

Thanks!
Unfortunately... I spoke too soon. Afterburn is still crashing MAX9_32.